I vote for …

Two years ago I recommended to vote for Martin Michlmayr because I was much more involved in the internal politics of Debian and because I was a candidate 3 years ago … nowadays I’m less involved and I’m voting based on what I’ve read: the platforms, some mails on debian-vote, the interviews on Linux Weekly News and the logs of the IRC Debate. I must say, it’s a difficult exercise for a busy person. It took me many hours… but I’ve done it because I wanted to vote without randomly choosing.

It looks like not everyone did the same effort, otherwise I can’t understand how some people forgot to put Jonathan Walters below “None of the above” (thanks to the people who send their replies to debian-vote instead of the good mail alias). Jonathan is a good Debian developer but that’s all. As a leader, he wouldn’t give us a good image. Of course, it’s just my opinion. You’re free not to share it.

Coming back to the subject, who did I vote for ? Anthony Towns is placed first on my ballot. I think he’s the most pragmatic candidate this year. He knows how things work within Debian, he knows what doesn’t work. All the candidates agree that lists have become unpleasant places and that we should remember that we’re all in Debian because __working for Debian is fun__. Anthony proposes a drastic solution (rules for banning noisy people and so on), it’s possibly too much but it’s worth trying. A first step would be to write a [Code of Conduct](http://www.ubuntulinux.org/community/conduct/document_view) like Ubuntu has: it’s quite effective there, anytime someone starts a new troll someone responds by “please stop that and read the code of conduct”, and the thread dies there. This will be difficult for Debian because we have so many people used to react quickly… but temporary bans for people who can’t refrain would be incitative.

Branden Robinson is still not very well placed on my ballot even if he’s no more the same anti-french guy he used to be in the past :-). His way of behaving reminds me too much of real politicians: he discards hot subjects (no reaction to the rebuttal of Anthony Towns), he says he doesn’t know if he will represent himself unless 100 people support him, etc.

All the other candidates are much like clones… good Debian developers with good ideas, it’s difficult to choose between them. I put Matthew in second position on my ballot without many reasons. It’s just that I have a good feeling, maybe because of his involvement in documenting the work of teams like the ftpmasters.

BTW, I do not like the idea of the SCUD team. The leader must delegate what he can’t do, there’s no need for him to have co-leaders. Or maybe the SCUD team is good idea but it doesn’t need to be formalized… and advertised as such. The leader naturally has people who advise him.

Last remark, I’d like to know who Martin Michlmayr votes for this year.